Every time I have an upcoming trip for work, I plan out how I am going to keep it as healthy and close to my normal routine as possible – I pack my work out clothes, plan out where I’m going to run and what I’m going to do for resistance training, I vow to drink plenty of water and eat only the healthiest things off the menu at restaurants.  I plan on steering clear of alcohol and catch up on some much-needed sleep that I don’t get at home.  Well, I can tell you that never happens.

When I travel for work (I am the Vice President and an account executive for Elite Tradeshow Services; we install and dismantle trade show exhibits and corporate events all over North America) I am on show site at a convention center ensuring my clients are happy and that their very expensive trade show booth is setting up properly; by the time the day ends I am usually totally drained and I usually get invited for a drink after my work is done then dinner usually gets planned for 7:00 or 8:00PM which gives me little time to get ready and make it to dinner on time.  I go to dinner and end up choosing the not so great for me option, stay out too late and indulge in a few alcoholic beverages and work starts at 8:00AM the next day.  In my line of work it’s fairly unrealistic that I will be able to completely keep up with my normal clean eating and healthy lifestyle so I came up with a few tips to at least keep it as healthy as I possibly can while still doing my job and being social and heck, having a little bit of fun that I never do at home.

Walk as much as possible!  While I might not have got my runs in while I was in Vegas over the weekend, I walked to and from the convention center from my hotel every single day.  The walk took about 30 minutes, plus I walk all day long at the convention center so I got many miles of walking in.  It really is very easy to walk a lot in Vegas.  You see the place you are going to and say “look, it’s not that far away” then walk to it and before you know it you’ve logged in a good 30-45 minutes of walking.  That sure is better than taking a cab plus you end up saving a ton of money by skipping those super expensive cab rides.  In many Vegas hotels, you have to pay to use the fitness facility so if it’s not included in the room rate I’d suggest a lot of walking, running outside (if time allows), bringing resistance bands and doing exercises that use body weight like push-ups.

Drink plenty of water!  I drink on average, about 5-6 liters of water every day.  I love water, I need water and it’s not hard for me to do.  Drinking water all day long hydrates you and keeps you from drinking high calorie/sugary drinks.  Why not commit to this one rule?  During the day, only drink water and maybe a cup of coffee in the morning.  You can save the alcohol for the night-time.  Drinking water all day can also help prevent the nasty hangover if you choose to indulge in a few cocktails later on because you will go in to it totally hydrated.

Choose your alcoholic beverages wisely!  If you are going to drink alcohol, be sure you are choosing simple beverages mixed with water as opposed to high sugar juices and soda.  Whatever you do, DO NOT order up margaritas or Pina Coladas!!!  1 frozen margarita can cost you 800 calories, and who has only 1 margarita?  If you want a cocktail try to choose a clear alcohol, like vodka, with water or soda water with a lemon or lime, if that’s too much, try it with a “splash” of juice or coke.  There is no healthy way to booze it up and alcohol is all 100% empty calories that do you no good at all but you can always make the better choice.  Also, try drinking a glass or bottle of water along with every single drink you have.  Sticking with beer or wine is a much better choice that sugary/high calorie cocktails as well.  We all deserve to indulge and have fun every now and again but don’t make it a regular thing.

Look for healthier options when dining out in restaurants!  I find it very exciting to go to a new city and trying the local cuisine and local restaurants.  I am a total foodie, I like almost everything and I’m always up for trying something new however I always try not to get too out of control when ordering off the menu.  I generally don’t order salads (I’m an athlete and I require meals much more filling) but I also will try to order something off the healthier section of the menu.  I will always stay away from the fried food!  I am a big fan of Mexican food and while in Vegas this past weekend I went to El Segundo Sol at the Fashion Show Mall and it was delicious.  I ordered some fresh salsa, tableside guacamole and chicken fajitas with corn tortillas instead of flour (making that switch can save you at least a good 50 calories per tortilla) and I didn’t use the cheese or sour cream.  It wasn’t the healthiest option on the strip, but I still went to a place that I knew I could make the best of what I was eating.  For breakfast, I ordered oatmeal with fresh fruit from the room service menu with tea.  Breakfast is easy to keep healthy and you’re generally not eating that meal in a social setting.

Lastly, if there is something that you really want and it’s something you can’t get anywhere else – just get it!  You need to indulge every now and again and I think the perfect time to indulge is when you are out-of-town.  You’re out of your normal routine to begin with so it’s not like this is going to become a habit.  I have to admit that I had In and Out Burger when I was in Vegas and it was delicious!  I haven’t had it in 2 years so I just went for it.  My craving was gone and I was ready to snack on a banana later and eat something healthy for dinner.  I would just suggest only eating something like that for one of your meals during your trip.  You don’t want to totally indulge for every meal every day.

My tips are realistic and easy to follow.  It’s next to impossible for me to mimic what I do at home when I’m traveling for work so I just try to work with what the situation is and make the best of it.  I will have a good week to detox and get totally back on track but I can go home knowing that I didn’t completely derail my fitness goals.

XOXO The Glam Runner

